The Kaliningrad region

About the procedure for issuing electronic visas for visiting the Kaliningrad region

In accordance with the Decree of the Government of the Russian Federation of May 15 From July 1, 2019, No. 595, citizens of certain foreign states can apply for single-entry business, humanitarian, and tourist visas on the specialized website of the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs in the form of an electronic document (electronic visa) for visiting Kaliningrad region.

Citizens of the following countries can apply for an electronic visa: Austria, Andorra, Bahrain, Belgium, Bulgaria, Vatican, Hungary, Germany, Greece, Denmark, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Iceland, Spain, Italy, Qatar, Cyprus, China ( including Taiwan), DPRK, Kuwait, Latvia, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Oman, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Northern Macedonia, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Turkey, Philippines, Finland, France, Croatia, Czech Republic Switzerland, Sweden, Estonia and Japan.

An electronic document is executed free of charge on the basis of a foreign citizen’s application, completed on the indicated website of the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs no later than 4 calendar days before the expected date of entry, with a digital photo attached to it in the form of an electronic file. Other documents for obtaining an electronic visa are not required.

The validity period of electronic visas is 30 days from the date of issue, with a permitted stay in the Russian Federation up to 8 days from the date of entry.

Electronic visas for visiting the Kaliningrad region are valid for entering the Russian Federation and leaving the Russian Federation only at certain checkpoints across the state border of the Russian Federation located in the Kaliningrad region:

railway checkpoints "Sovetsk", "Mamonovo"; automobile checkpoints "Bagrationovsk", "Gusev", "Mamonovo (Gzhehotki)", "Mamonovo (Gronovo)", "Marine", "Pogranichniy", "Sovetsk", "Chernyshevskoe "; "Kaliningrad" sea checkpoint (sections in the cities of Kaliningrad, Baltiysk and Svetly); the Kaliningrad-Khrabrovo air checkpoint.

Foreign citizens who have received electronic visas to visit the Kaliningrad Region have the right to be and move only within the territory of the Kaliningrad Region. Entry on such visas to the rest of the Russian Federation for the purpose of transit travel to the Kaliningrad region or exit from it, including through airports in direct mode, is not allowed.

Transport companies can check with a foreign citizen for a valid electronic visa on a special automated website of the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Information on the verification procedure in Russian and English is available there.